Driving under the Influence (DUI) conviction is when a driver is arrested for operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol. His blood, urine, breath or saliva test will show a BAC level higher than 0.08%, he will then face a series of serious charges and penalties such as monetary fines ( $500- $20.000), license suspension( 6 months- to a permanent revocation), jail sentences ( up to 7 years) , ignition lock drivers and more legal charges depending on the intensity of the accusation.
Underage Drinking and Drunken Driving
In New York, the legal drinking age, meaning the youngest age of legal alcohol consumption and purchase of alcohol beverages, is 21 years old as in all the other States of America and the minimum driving age in New York is 16 with some restrictions that could be applied to learner permit holders and drivers under 18.
Last year, statistics showed a high number of underage DWI arrest in NY State, which reached 5,000 drivers under age 21. It is also important to acknowledge that the number one mortality reason for youngsters in the age of 15-20 years old is the motor vehicle charges.
Underage DUI Penalties
Based on the New York laws it is forbidden for minors to be consuming alcohol or purchasing alcohol under 21. Such an attempt can get a teenager to pay a fine of $100, get alcohol awareness training and 30 community service hours plus the suspension of the license for 3 months.
Additionally, NY State has a zero tolerance for minors caught driving while intoxicated. If in a regular Driving Under the Influence (DUI) the BAC level should be 0.08 % or more to get arrested, in an underage DUI the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) needed to make a conviction is 0.02% or higher. The minor’s license will be suspended if she is charged with Driving While Ability Impaired or Driving While Intoxicated. Other possible consequences include a fine of up to $125, with an additional $100 fee upon return of the license.